Stocks – U.S. Futures Rise Ahead of Earnings

14

Stocks - U.S. Futures Rise Ahead of Earnings

Binary news – U.S. futures pointed to a higher opening bell on Monday as a better than expected start of earnings season has helped boost investor confidence.

The S&P 500 futures rose 7 points or 0.25% to 2,774.50 as of 6:50 AM ET (10:50 GMT) while Dow futures were up 63 points, or 0.25%, to 25,491.0. Meanwhile tech heavy Nasdaq 100 futures increased 42 points, or 0.60%, to 7,149.0.

On Monday, toy maker Hasbro (NASDAQ:HAS) and personal care company Kimberly-Clark (NYSE:KMB) are expected to report before the morning bell, while Crane Company (NYSE:CR), Rent-A-Center Inc (NASDAQ:RCII), and Sonic Corp (NASDAQ:SONC) release their earnings after the market close. More than 15% of S&P 500 companies have reported so far, with 83% topping analyst expectations, according to FactSet.

Energy management firm Halliburton (NYSE:HAL) was up 0.85% in premarket trading after its earnings came in better than expected.

Intel (NASDAQ:INTC) was among the top gainers in premarket trading, surging 1.98% while Facebook (NASDAQ:FB) rose 0.21% and Netflix (NASDAQ:NFLX) gained 0.76%. Chinese e-commerce site Jd.Com Inc Adr (NASDAQ:JD) increased 4.35% while Tesla (NASDAQ:TSLA) was up 0.88%.

Elsewhere, Bristol-Myers Squibb Company (NYSE:BMY) was down 3.85% while Procter & Gamble Company (NYSE:PG) lost 0.29% and Perrigo Co (NYSE:PRGO) dipped 0.40%.

On the data front, the Chicago Federal Reserve will release national activity index figures at 8:30 AM ET (12:30 GMT).

In commodities, gold futures rose 0.20% to $1,226.10 a troy ounce while crude oil futures increased 0.46% to $69.44 a barrel. The U.S. dollar index which measures the greenback against a basket of six major currencies, inched up 0.10% to 95.54.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here